Prelims 1523

The division of Mauryan society into seven categories was particularly mentioned in
Kautilya’s Arthashastra
Ashokan edicts
Temple pillars
Indica of Megasthenes
Explanation :
Indica is the book written by Megasthenes, who stayed as Ambassador of Seleukos Nikator at Chandragupta Maurya’s court at Pataliputra for several years around 300 B.C.. He wrote that the society generally was divided into seven categories – the wise men (Brahmins), farmers, herdsmen, artisans, soldiers, over-seers (supervisors), and government officials including army and navy officers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s