Prelims 6589

The Abel Prize is given for the extraordinary contribution in the field of
Explanation :
The Abel Prize is one of world’s top prizes in mathematics and is considered as Nobel Prize for Mathematics.
The Abel prize has been awarded annually since 2003 to one or more outstanding mathematicians in memory of the Norwegian mathematics genius Niels Henrik Abel.
The Abel Prize recognizes outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences.
Canadian mathematician Robert Langlands has been named as the winner of the Abel Prize for 2018 for his visionary programme connecting representation theory to number theory.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s