Railway Zones of India and Their Divisions

Railway Zones of India and Their Divisions

  • The journey of railways in Indian sub-continent started in 1853 with 34 kilometers (kms).
  • First rail ran on 16th April, 1853 and covered the 21-mile distance in about 75 minutes from Bombay to Thane.
  • The Railway Board in 1950 decided for the regrouping of the Indian Railways into six zonal systems, namely:
  1. Northern
  2. North Eastern
  3. Southern
  4. Central
  5. Eastern
  6. Western Railways.
  • At Present, there are 17  railway zone.
  • The Metro Railway of Kolkata became the country’s 17th Railway Zone in 2010.